May 14, 2011

No Regrets

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:33 AM by brittygirl2

This week we had a girl leave the care of Destiny Rescue to return to her home, her family and the opportunity to finish her high school education. She was here with us at Destiny Rescue for about 6 months, and during that time we all had the privilege of being a part of her life and seeing God transform her into a completely new person. She was one of my hairdressing students, and by far one of the best. She loved to learn and excelled greatly in everything I taught. She was the life of the group, and with her around there was never a dull moment. She loved to laugh, sing and dance…and it was quite often she would get distracted, only to look up and find me watching her get carried away. She would attempt to put on her serious face that would show slight remorse, then she would break out with a giggle and direct her attention towards the assignment given. She loved learning. She loved being called on to answer questions. She loved being tested so that she could prove to herself she had what it took. She had a strong spirit, and determination like none other. She wasn’t afraid to argue her point, or hold her own when needed…she was also one of the first to raise her hands in worship to Jesus.

The situation she came from and the burdens she was forced to carry are something that shouldn’t ever be put on a girl…any girl, however God brought her out of that place and into our care where she could be loved and supported for who she was and all that she needed. The time of her leaving came as an unexpected surprise to us all, and happened very quick. I found out she was leaving, and within 24 hours after that she had left for home. I am sad that she is no longer here. I am sad that I don’t have the opportunity to teach her more. I am sad that the exuberance she brought to my life is no longer waiting for me each morning. I am sad that the adventure we shared together has come to an end. I am sad because she feels very much a part of my life…but even among the sadness I feel in my heart, an emotion greater than the sadness is one of no regrets.

Looking back on the past 6 months she was here, I can say that I have absolutely no regrets. I believe that God used us all in her life in ways she desperately needed. I know that God used us as a living picture of His unconditional love for her. I know that God used us to show her the joy we can have when we are walking in a relationship with Him. I know that God used us to provide a safe and supportive environment for her, and I am grateful that God used me to impart a skill that she will be able to use no matter where she finds herself in life. While my heart grieves for the loss of a friend, my heart rejoices even more that I was obedient to do all that God called me to do while she was here with us. God brought her here for a specific purpose, and a divine time, and I believe he accomplished all that was needed. I believe that as she returns home He is watching over her.

The greatest blessing of all however, was that just last week she gave her heart to Christ, and surrendered her life to God. What a miracle!! God’s handprint has marked her. My heart rejoices at this precious heart that has been rescued out of eternal damnation, and received the blessing of freedom, love, and eternal life. We have no idea the impact we can make for God’s glory; whether its now, or a seed that’s planted for later…our lives are directed by One who sees the bigger picture, the perfect picture. I want God to help me to live each day to the fullest, so that I have absolutely no regrets..

While I was impacting this girls life..she was impacting mine. I will miss her…and she will always hold a special place in my heart..

2 Comments »

  1. iwu2012breanna said,

    Wow, Brittany. This made me cry. Beautiful.

    Praise God

  2. Garrett Callahan said,

    Thank you for reminding me what it means the most to follow God- I honestly cannot believe what God has done through you!


Leave a Reply

