March 29, 2011

Follow by example

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:37 PM by brittygirl2

I’m going through this devotional book right now called “The Relationship Principles of Jesus” by Tom Holladay. It’s a great book and I would recommend it for anyone and everyone! I am learning so much from it, and not matter how many times I go back through the chapters I always come away with something new. I have felt encouraged, strengthened, challenged, convicted and so much more! I feel like the more I read it and find new truth, the more I crave it and feel as though I can’t get enough. Recently I read a chapter that was talking about how love makes the choice to accept others for their differences, and sacrifice so that we might follow by Christ’s example and love unconditionally.

Here’s a section from the chapter:

“To love as Jesus loved, we must choose to sacrifice. The 4 marks of loving are fellowship, forgiveness, acceptance and sacrifice. The apostle John declares, ‘This is how we know what love is: Christ gave his life for us. We too, then, ought to give our lives for others’ (1 John 3:16). True love sacrifices. The greatest sacrifices may not be the once-in-a-lifetime sacrifices; they may well be the daily sacrifices. You give up your way and seek another person’s good. No one else may know you did it, but you’ll know you acted in response to Jesus’ love for you.”

Wow! Every time I read that, its strikes my heart anew. Who better to follow than the example of Jesus who was incarnate; fully God.. yet fully human. As I was thinking about this chapter, I felt really convicted to start asking myself consistently if what I’m about to do for someone is really a sacrifice. I want to love not just partially or conveniently, but wholly and fully. That means I need to follow the words and instruction given to us- I need to sacrifice and lay down my life for others. When I have really stopped to think about it, I know that there are so many times I could give more. I could give something that really costs me…whether of my time, energy, finances, spoken words or acts of service. I can go a step further to show real love, and find the ultimate joy and satisfaction of laying down my life for someone else. I began asking myself this question everyday, all throughout the day…and I was completely amazed at the opportunities I had to love! I was amazed at how good it felt to give something knowing that it was really costing me something, yet I didn’t feel empty; I felt even more fulfilled, and I felt the desire to do it again and again. There is so much blessing that comes from giving priority to others, but we often never see it because our focus is to much on ourselves. God is working in my own heart as I lay down a little more of myself, and make room for a little more of him. It’s an incredible feeling, and I challenge you to go for it. Don’t hold back, don’t make excuses, let yourself become a little more free with each day that you learn to love with sacrifice.

1 Corinthians 13: 1-8

“If I speak in the tongues of men and angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. Love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

3 Comments »

  1. Angie said,

    As I was reading your entry, I have my Pandora on. The song “My Jesus” by Todd Agnew came on in absolutely perfect timing. I feel this is no coincidence, that is for sure. I love when that happens!!!

    “Which Jesus do you follow?
    Which Jesus do you serve?
    If Ephesians says to imitate Christ
    Then why do you look so much like the world?

    ….Cause You said to live like You, love like You
    but then You died for me
    Can I be like You Jesus?
    I want to be like you Jesus!”

    Thanks for sharing, Brittany 🙂

  2. iwu2012breanna said,

    This was really good, Brittany. You most definitely are giving your life as a living sacrifice like Christ. I know I really needed to read this, so thanks.

    Love,
    Breanna

  3. Beth said,

    Very well said dear heart. I know the these truths are transforming your heart and mind, and therefore are transforming the way you live, which is transforming lives. Yes, you are partnering with the Holy Spirit in Kingdom work! So proud of my girl.


Leave a Reply

